O’Malia, Last of the Dodd-Frank Reformers, Leaving the CFTC

Republican Commissioner Scott D. O’Malia plans to leave the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) Aug. 8, after having labored four and a half years through market reforms mandated by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.

July 22, 2014

LaFleur, Bay Win Senate Confirmation to FERC

Lawmakers in the U.S. Senate on Tuesday gave overwhelming support for Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur to serve as a FERC commissioner. Norman Bay squeaked by and could take over either now or later as chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, despite fierce opposition from Republicans.

July 15, 2014

Obama’s FERC Chair Nominee Hits Senate Turbulence

Acting FERC Chairman Cheryl LaFleur seems likely to have a smooth path to a second term as a commissioner, but it may be a rockier road for Norman Bay, who was President Obama nomination for the Chairman’s seat, based on a hearing of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee in Washington, DC, Tuesday.

May 20, 2014

Arkansas Regulator Seen as Front Runner for FERC Chairman

Colette D. Honorable “is very confirmable,” said an industry spokeswoman.

October 9, 2013


Apache Corp.announced several executive changes effective Jan. 1, 2014. COORod Eichleris transitioning to two newly created roles: executive adviser to the chairman and CEO of liquefied natural gas projects and upstream, as well as oversight of gas monetization, and corporate health, safety, environment and emergency response. Permian Basin Region Vice PresidentJohn Christmannis to become COO of North America. International Operations EVPTom Voytovichis becoming COO of International, whileMike Bahorich, chief technology officer, also assumes responsibility for exploration and production technology. Argentina Region Vice PresidentMichael Bosewould take over the Permian Region, whileDavid Chi, manager of Argentina production, would become interim region vice president.Rob Johnstonis to become vice president of the Central Region.

September 24, 2013

Binz’s Nomination at FERC in Trouble

Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV) Thursday said he would join Republicans in voting against former Colorado regulator Ron Binz for FERC chairman, which would sink the nomination if the rest of the votes in the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee split along party lines.

September 20, 2013

Consol Energy COO Named Marcellus Shale Coalition Chairman

Consol Energy Inc. COO Randy Albert is the new chairman of the Marcellus Shale Coalition (MSC), taking the helm from David Spigelmyer until the current term ends in late November, MSC spokesman Travis Windle toldNGI’s Shale Daily.

August 29, 2013

Binz Seen as ‘Logical Successor’ to Wellinghoff at FERC

Not all of the lobbying groups in Washington, DC, believe that the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission is destined to become more proactive on energy if former Colorado regulator Ron Binz is confirmed as chairman.

August 23, 2013

Obama Nominates Giancarlo to CFTC

J. Christopher Giancarlo, executive vice president of the brokerage firm GFI Group Inc., has been nominated by President Obama to fill an opening on the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), the White House said.

August 7, 2013

Wyden Calls for Review of FracFocus Website

Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR), chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, has called on the Department of Energy to start the ball rolling on an “independent, unbiased” review of the FracFocus website to determine if it provides sufficient information to state and federal regulators on hydraulic fracturing (fracking).

July 29, 2013