Brief — LNG Exports

Charlie Riedl, executive director of the Center for LNG and senior vice president of the Natural Gas Supply Association, appealed in a letter Monday to key lawmakers for “a clear and efficient regulatory path for LNG [liquefied natural gas] exports, a measure that held broad bipartisan support in the previous Congress but unfortunately was not passed.” Riedl called for legislation to expedite LNG export approvals. Riedl wrote to House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Greg Walden, Vice Chairman Joe Barton and Ranking Member Frank Pallone; Senate Committee on Natural Resources Chairman Lisa Murkowski and Ranking Member Maria Cantwell; as well as Secretary of Energy Rick Perry. “Greater regulatory certainty for LNG export applications will enable America to compete on a global level, encourage investment here at home and create tens of thousands of American jobs,” Riedl said.

March 21, 2017

Trump Close to Announcing FERC Nominees, New Chair, Reports Say

President Trump reportedly plans to nominate at least two, but possibly three, individuals to FERC in a long-anticipated move that would restore the Commission’s quorum and allow it to continue with its work, including the approval of oil and natural gas pipelines.

March 9, 2017
Trump Returns Cheryl LaFleur to FERC Chairmanship

Trump Returns Cheryl LaFleur to FERC Chairmanship

President Trump has named Cheryl LaFleur acting chairman of FERC, and Norman Bay has resigned his appointment to the agency, according to a pair of statements released within hours of each other Thursday. Bay’s resignation, to take effect Feb. 3, will leave the agency with only two commissioners, not enough to achieve a quorum.

January 26, 2017

People — Oklahoma Corporation Commission

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission has unanimously elected Commissioner Dana Murphy as its new chairman, and Commissioner Todd Hiett as vice chairman. Both changes will take effect on Feb. 1. Murphy will succeed Commissioner Bob Anthony as chairman. Murphy has served as a commissioner since January 2009 and was elected to her latest term in the 2016 election. Meanwhile, Hiett is serving his first term, which began in January 2015.

January 5, 2017

People — Duroc-Danner

Long-time Weatherford International plc Chairman and CEO Bernard J. Duroc-Danner resigned effective on Wednesday. No explanation was offered by the company. The fourth largest oilfield services operator in the world is to be led by interim CEO Krishna Shivram, who also is to continue as CFO until a new financial chief is named. Vice Chairman Robert Rayne is taking over as chairman. The board stated that it was “extremely grateful” to Duroc-Danner for “his leadership, vision, loyalty and the guidance provided to Weatherford and its predecessors for the past 30 years. He has grown and steered the company from humble beginnings into one of the leading oilfield service providers that it is today, providing numerous contributions to both the company and the industry.” Shivram, who was appointed CFO in November 2013, previously worked for Schlumberger Ltd.

November 10, 2016

FERC Chairman Cracks Down on Meeting Hooliganism

In FERC’s first open meeting since it adopted a rule to rein in show-stopping protests — and her last meeting as chairman — Cheryl LaFleur on Thursday was forced to clear the room before the meeting even began when demonstrators began shouting their opposition to an issue not on the agenda.

March 19, 2015

Papa Steps Down From EOG Board

Mark G. Papa, 67, who retired at the end of 2013 as chairman and CEO of EOG Resources Inc., has stepped down from the company’s board of directors for personal reasons.

December 18, 2014
New Infrastructure, Not Scheduling Changes, Will Cure Shortages, Says National Fuel Gas CEO

New Infrastructure, Not Scheduling Changes, Will Cure Shortages, Says National Fuel Gas CEO

Revamping natural gas markets without building new infrastructure isn’t likely to provide the access to gas that power generators are looking for, according to incoming Interstate Natural Gas Association of America (INGAA) chairman Ron Tanski, who is also CEO of National Fuel Gas.

October 10, 2014

Obama Nominates Arkansas PSC Chair to Be FERC Commissioner

President Obama will nominate Colette D. Honorable, chairman of the Arkansas Public Service Commission (PSC), to be a commissioner at FERC, the White House said Thursday.

August 29, 2014

More Changes at FERC as Commissioner Norris Resigns

John Norris has submitted to President Obama his resignation from FERC effective Aug. 20, nearly three years before his current term is due to expire, the commissioner said late Thursday.

August 8, 2014