Senate leaders on Friday named 14 conferees to the upcoming House-Senate conference on the omnibus energy bill (HR 6). The House has yet to appoint conferees.

The Senate conferees include 11 members of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, and three members of the Senate Finance Committee. Republican members from the Senate energy panel who were appointed were Sens. Pete Domenici of New Mexico, Larry Craig of Idaho, Craig Thomas of Wyoming, Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska and Richard Burr of North Carolina.

The Democratic members of the Senate energy committee who were selected as conferees were Sens. Jeff Bingaman of New Mexico, Daniel Akaka of Hawaii, Byron Dorgan of North Dakota, Ron Wyden of Oregon and Tim Johnson of South Dakota.

The conferees picked from the finance panel were Sens. Grassley (R-IA), Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Max Baucus (D-MT).

The date for the opening conference meeting has not been set, according to a spokesman for the Senate energy panel. It is expected that Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX), chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, will chair the upcoming conference.

©Copyright 2005Intelligence Press Inc. All rights reserved. The preceding news reportmay not be republished or redistributed, in whole or in part, in anyform, without prior written consent of Intelligence Press, Inc.