Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) Acting Chairman J. Christopher Giancarlo on Monday named Andrew B. Busch as the Commission’s first chief market intelligence officer (CMIO).

In his new role at CFTC, Busch, a 30-year veteran of the financial services sector, will work with the newly-formed Market Intelligence Unit to analyze market trends. Busch will join CFTC beginning next week.

Giancarlo, who took over for former Chairman Timothy Massad in January, announced plans last month for a series of organizational shakeups — including creating the CMIO position — as the CFTC aligns itself with the Trump administration’s priorities.

As part of efforts to reduce regulatory burden, Giancarlo announced he would be creating the Market Intelligence Unit by reassigning the Surveillance Branch from the Division of Market Oversight to the Division of Enforcement.

The new Market Intelligence Unit “is designed to understand, analyze and communicate current and emerging derivatives market dynamics, developments and trends — such as the impact of new technologies and trading methodologies,” according to CFTC.

“The new chief market intelligence officer will help activate the CFTC’s latent capability for market intelligence, giving us better insight into the needs of participants in the futures and swaps we oversee,” Giancarlo said.

“…In this new position, which reports directly to the Chairman, Andy will engage with the CFTC’s new Market Intelligence Unit as well as market participants, industry analysts, economists, policy makers, and other regulators. He will help communicate to a broader American public emerging trends in the commodity futures markets that the CFTC oversees.”

Busch joins the CFTC after serving as CEO of Bering Productions Inc., an economic research company he founded.

From 2009-2013, Busch was the global currency and public policy strategist for the Bank of Montreal. Before that he served as the bank’s global foreign exchange strategist and as an outside adviser to the White House, the U.S. Treasury and Congress from 2005 to 2009.