Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia Chairman Willie L. Phillips will officially serve as the next FERC commissioner after the Senate confirmed his nomination this week.

willie phillips

Phillips, nominated by President Biden in September, will fill the seat vacated by former Commissioner Neil Chatterjee for a term expiring June 30, 2026.

Chatterjee, a former Federal Energy Regulatory Commission chairman under the Trump administration, on Twitter called it a “humbling honor” to have Phillips as his successor. Current FERC Chairman Richard Glick offered “sincere congratulations” to Phillips, who is set to occupy the fifth and final seat on the commission.

“As I’ve said, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission functions best when it has a full complement of...