With former chairman Norman Bay’s resignation and loss of a quorum looming, FERC on Thursday authorized Dominion Carolina Gas Transmission LLC (DGC) to build, own and operate its proposed Transco to Charleston Project, an 80,000 Dth/d pipeline system in South Carolina [CP16-98].

The project, filed by DGC last March, would involve constructing and operating facilities in South Carolina’s Aiken, Charleston, Dillon, Dorchester, Greenwood, Laurens, Newberry and Spartanburg counties. DGC has estimated a $119.3 million price tag, and plans place the facilities into service by November.

Proposed facilities include 55 miles of 12-inch diameter pipeline in Spartanburg, Laurens, Newberry and Greenwood counties (the Moore to Chappells pipeline) and five miles of four-inch diameter pipeline in Dillon County (the Dillon pipeline). Also proposed are installing two 1,400 hp compressor units at the existing Moore Compressor Station in Spartanburg County; constructing a 3,150 hp compressor station in Dorchester County; converting a 1,050 hp compressor unit from standby to baseload at the Southern Compressor Station in Aiken County; upgrades to the Charleston Town Border Station in Charleston County; and associated pipeline support facilities.

Following a nonbinding open season in 2013 to solicit interest for firm transportation service originating at DGC’s interconnection with Transco, the company initiated negotiations for project capacity with several potential customers, including South Carolina Electric & Gas, which subsequently agreed to be an anchor shipper for the project, electing to receive 75,000 Dth/d of firm transportation service at the existing Transco-Moore Receipt Point in Moore, SC. A binding open season and reverse open season in 2014 resulted in binding precedent agreements with Flakeboard Company Ltd. (2,000 Dth/d) and Wyman-Gordon Co. (3,000 Dth/d).

With Friday marking Bay’s last day, FERC now heads into a quorumless stretch until new Commissioners can be appointed. Last week, President Trump named Cheryl LaFleur acting chairman of FERC, replacing Bay, who then resigned his appointment as commissioner, effective Feb. 3.