Two New England states recently joined the northeastern regional hydrogen hub coalition, adding to the expanding list of agencies ready to benefit from federally funded projects. 


With the addition of Rhode Island and Maine, the New York-led coalition now involves six states. Connecticut, Massachusetts and New Jersey were the first to partner with the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA), New York Power Authority (NYPA) and Empire State Development on the hub proposal. 

NYPA CEO Justin Driscoll said the addition of Maine and Rhode Island would “significantly boost the value” of a Northeast proposal, making the regional hub a “stronger, more multifaceted contender” for the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Regional Hydrogen Hub $8 billion...