Commissioner Robert Powelson said late Thursday that he will leave FERC in mid-August to become president and CEO of the National Association of Water Companies.

President Trump announced Powelson’s nomination to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in May 2017. At that time a member of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, Powelson was nominated for a term expiring June 30, 2020, previously held by Philip Moeller, who left FERC in October 2015. At the time, Powelson served as the president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), and on the Electric Power Research Institute Advisory Board and the Drexel University board of trustees.

A mid-August resignation would cut short Powelson’s tenure at FERC at one year. His swearing in on Aug. 10, 2017, brought to an end a months-long quorumless stretch at the Commission.

“I express my gratitude to President Trump for nominating me and to the members of the United States Senate who confirmed me,” Powelson said in a statement on the FERC website. “I thank my colleagues for their steadfast commitment to FERC’s mission, members of the public who help inform our decisions, and the staff at FERC for their dedication and support throughout my time at the Commission, especially the members of my office. It has been the honor of a lifetime to serve our great nation as a FERC Commissioner.”

Powelson is one of three Republicans at FERC, along with Chairman Kevin McIntyre and Commissioner Neil Chatterjee. Commissioners Richard Glick and Cheryl LaFleur are Democrats. By law, no more than three members may be from any one political party.