New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson heads the slate of 2003-2004 Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) officers. Richardson, a former United Nations ambassador and U.S. secretary of energy during the Clinton Administration, was chosen at the IOGCC’s midyear meeting in Williamsburg, VA. He will succeed the current chairman, North Dakota Gov. John Hoeven, at the IOGCC’s annual meeting in Reno in October. Donald L. Mason of Ohio was selected as vice chairman and Randy Ruedrich of Alaska was selected as second vice chairman. Mason, a member of the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, is the current second vice chairman of the IOGCC. Ruedrich is a member of the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. Alaska Gov. Frank Murkowski was named chairman-elect, and will serve as chairman in 2004-2005 along with Ruedrich as vice chairman and Don Likwartz of Wyoming as second vice chairman. Likwartz is state oil and gas supervisor for Wyoming. Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal was tabbed to serve as chairman in 2005-2006. The IOGCC, founded in 1935 to ensure the efficient recovery of domestic petroleum resources while protecting health, safety and the environment, represents the governors of 30 oil and gas producing states. Seven states are associate members, and the IOGCC international program has seven affiliates. For more information on the IOGCC, visit its web site at

©Copyright 2003 Intelligence Press Inc. All rights reserved. The preceding news report may not be republished or redistributed, in whole or in part, in any form, without prior written consent of Intelligence Press, Inc.