President Obama has announced his intent to nominate a former New England electricity executive for the fifth seat on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, giving the panel a Democratic majority and filling the last vacancy.

Cheryl A. LaFleur, a former executive vice president and acting CEO of National Grid USA, would fill the seat vacated by former Commissioner Suedeen Kelly, who left the agency in late December (see Daily GPI, Dec. 23, 2009 ).

LaFleur, who has more than 20 years of experience in the energy industry, retired in 2007 from National Grid, which delivers electricity to 3.4 million customers in the Northeast and owns natural gas distributor KeySpan. New England senators wanted a FERC nominee who has a background in Northeast and New England energy issues, a natural gas source noted.

LaFleur’s nomination has not yet been sent to Capitol Hill, where the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee will hold a confirmation hearing to determine whether the nomination should be sent to the full Senate for confirmation.

If confirmed, LaFleur will join Chairman Jon Wellinghoff and Commissioner John Norris — both Democrats — and Republican Commissioners Philip D. Moeller and Marc Spitzer. Norris is the newcomer to the Commission so far, having joined it early this year.

Before joining National Grid in 1986, LaFleur was a lawyer at Ropes and Gray in Boston for eight years. She received her undergraduate degree from Princeton University and her law degree from Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review.

The president Monday also announced his intent to nominate Moeller for another term on the Commission (see Daily GPI, March 10). Moeller, a Republican, has served on the Commission since July 2006 (see Daily GPI, July 17, 2006). He assumed the seat of former FERC Chairman Pat Wood. His current term expires on June 30.

©Copyright 2010Intelligence Press Inc. All rights reserved. The preceding news reportmay not be republished or redistributed, in whole or in part, in anyform, without prior written consent of Intelligence Press, Inc.