New FERC Commissioner Neil Chatterjee officially was sworn in Tuesday, less than a week after his nomination was confirmed by the Senate.

Chatterjee joins sitting Commissioner Cheryl LaFleur, the only holdover from the Obama administration, bringing the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission one step closer to returning to business.

Before joining the Commission, Chatterjee was energy policy adviser to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY). His term, which would expire on June 30, 2021, previously was held by Tony Clark.

Another FERC nominee, Robert Powelson, also was confirmed by the Senate last week, but he had not been sworn in as of Tuesday afternoon. He is coming to FERC after serving on the Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission.

FERC spokeswoman Tamara Young-Allen told NGITuesday that a time and date had not been set for Powelson’s swearing in. Once Powelson is sworn in, the Commission would have an operational quorum that would allow it to tackle a backlog of infrastructure projects awaiting action, including certificates for several major natural gas pipelines.

Two other FERC nominations by the Trump administration, Richard Glick and Kevin McIntyre are scheduled to be considered by the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on Sept. 7. Glick is a Democrat, McIntyre a Republican. LaFleur is a Democrat; both Chatterjee and Powelson are Republicans. By law, FERC may have no more than three members of any one party on its five-member panel.