Nine states have asked the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in a 32-page pleading to lift a stay on rules implemented during the Obama administration to curb methane emissions at municipal landfills. The coalition is made up of California, Illinois, Maryland, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont. The EPA in 2017 extended a stay by two years after ordering a stay over parts of proposed rules governing new sources of methane emissions from the oil and natural gas industry.