R. Skip Horvath, president and CEO of the Natural Gas Supply Association (NGSA) plans to retire from the organization in the first half of 2014. "I've enjoyed 15 wonderful, rewarding years at NGSA," Horvath said. "My original goals were to focus the association's mission and put it back on solid financial footing. I'm proud to have accomplished those goals, but my proudest achievement at NGSA will always be the exceptional staff that I handpicked," he said. Horvath has been president and CEO of NGSA since 1999. NGSA Chairman Greg Vesey said, "We're tremendously grateful to Skip for his vision and leadership throughout a time of historic changes in the natural gas industry." Horvath's work in the natural gas industry has spanned the terms of 13 of the 15 chairmen that the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has had in its history. Prior to joining NGSA, he served as COO and executive vice president at the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America. He also helped establish and lead the Natural Gas Council, a forum for leaders in the natural gas industry to discuss common concerns. He also founded the Distributed Power Coalition of America and served as one of four individuals tasked with setting up the Gas Industry Standards Board (now known as NAESB, the North American Energy Standards Board) and the Center for Liquefied Natural Gas.

Spectra Energy Corp. announced that Chief Development Officer Alan Harris and Chief Communications Officer (CCO) John Arensdorf will retire next year. That led the midstream company to make changes in its executive management structure, appointing Treasurer Guy Buckley to take Harris' position. Group Vice President Julie Dill will become CCO. President of U.S. Transmission and Storage Bill Yardley will take over for the company's U.S. natural gas segment, and Spectra Energy Partners CFO Laura Sayavedra will become vice president and treasurer.

His fellow commissioners Monday elected Commissioner Mark P. Wetjen to serve as interim chairman of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) upon termination of Chairman Gary Gensler's term at the end of the year. Timothy Massad, a Treasury Department official heavily involved in the federal bank bailout program, who was nominated by President Obama to replace Gensler, still awaits a Senate confirmation hearing (see Daily GPI, Nov. 12). "I am honored to have been chosen to serve as acting chairman," said Wetjen. "I thank my colleagues, Commissioners Chilton and O'Malia, for their support and look forward to working collaboratively to oversee the ongoing implementation of the Dodd-Frank Act and the continuation of the CFTC's critical mission. I also would like to thank Chairman Gensler for his leadership of this agency and of the financial reform effort in the aftermath of the financial crisis. I am eager to continue that effort in consultation with my fellow commissioners."