NGI The Weekly Gas Market Report / NGI All News Access

Senate Energy Panel Gets New GOP, Democratic Members

December 27, 2004
/ Print
| Share More
/ Text Size+

Senate Energy Panel Gets New GOP, Democratic Members

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee will have three new Republican members and two new Democratic members when the 109th Congress gets down to business in January.

Joining the panel will be junior GOP Sens. Mel Martinez of Florida, Richard Burr of North Carolina and George Allen of Virginia. They will replace Don Nickles of Oklahoma and Ben Nighthorse Campbell of Colorado, both of whom are retiring, and Sen. Jon Kyl of Arizona, who is moving to another Senate committee.

The Richmond Times-Dispatch reported last week that the assignment of Allen to the Senate Energy Committee is "sparking renewed controversy over his ties to a Virginia-based energy company," Dominion Resources. Allen's wife, Susan B. Allen, serves on the board of directors of Dominion Resources.

Sens. Jon Corzine of New Jersey and Ken Salazar of Colorado will be the new Democratic members of the panel. They will replace retiring Sen. Bob Graham of Florida, and Sens. Charles Schumer of New York and Evan Bayh of Indiana, both of whom are moving to other committees.

The committee will have 12 Republicans and 10 Democrats, with Sen. Pete Domenici (R-NM) continuing as chairman and Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) as the ranking Democrat.

©Copyright 2004 Intelligence Press Inc. All rights reserved. The preceding news report may not be republished or redistributed, in whole or in part, in any form, without prior written consent of Intelligence Press, Inc.

ISSN © 2577-9877 | ISSN © 1532-1266
Comments powered by Disqus