Daily GPI / Regulatory / Regulatory / NGI All News Access

People-- J. Christopher Giancarlo

The Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry has approved the nomination of J. Christopher Giancarlo to be chairman of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, where he has served as acting chairman since January. The nomination must still be approved by the full Senate. Sharon Bowen, who has been a member of the CFTC since 2014 and whose term isn't due to expire until June 2019, announced earlier in June that she will resign "within the next few months, or perhaps sooner if another nominee is confirmed." The White House announced in April that the administration would nominate Brian Quintenz, former head of a Washington, DC-based investment firm, to be a CFTC commissioner for the remainder of a five-year term expiring April 13, 2020, and earlier in June announced the nomination of Dawn DeBerry Stump, a former executive director of the Americas Advisory Board for the Futures Industry Association and vice president at NYSE Euronext. Both of those nominations are pending before the committee. 

ISSN © 2577-9877 | ISSN © 1532-1231

Recent Articles by NGI Staff Reports

Comments powered by Disqus