The American Gas Association (AGA) has formed a new board-level Committee on Security, Infrastructure Integrity and Reliability, which will be devoted to natural gas delivery system security and reliability issues.

AGA said that the committee will be composed of natural gas utility executives from the association’s board of directors. Philip C. Ackerman, president of National Fuel Gas Co. of Buffalo, NY, will serve as chair of the new committee. The committee was formed by a unanimous vote of the AGA Board of Directors at their annual meeting last Monday in Las Vegas.

According to AGA, the committee’s mission will be “to provide board-level leadership to promote security, infrastructure integrity and reliability of the nation’s natural gas utility delivery system.”

Also, at AGA’s annual executive conference, AGA’s William Michael Warren, CEO of Energen Corp. of Birmingham, AL, was elected to serve as chairman of the board of directors for 2002.

AGA’s other elected officers for 2002 include the following: First Vice Chair Richard G. Reiten, chairman and CEO of NW Natural (Portland, OR); Second Vice Chair Robert W. Best of Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas); and Immediate Past Chair D.N. “Nick” Rose, CEO of Questar Gas Co. (Salt Lake City). AGA represents 185 local natural gas utilities.

©Copyright 2001 Intelligence Press Inc. Allrights reserved. The preceding news report may not be republishedor redistributed, in whole or in part, in any form, without priorwritten consent of Intelligence Press, Inc.